2023 Kupe Scholars announced By June Pfister

  • fatweb
  • News
  • August 9, 2023
  • 0 Comment

The ministry of education has announced 2023’s 31 recipients of Kupe Scholarships for Maori and Pacific High Achievers. Each Kupe Scholarship is worth over 22,000 dollars and aims to attract highly accomplished Maori and Pacific students that wish to study in education and become a teacher in early learning, primary and secondary schools.
A celebration of these students’ high achievements was held on the 2nd of August at the Parliament buildings hosted by Associate Ministers of Education Hon Kelvin Davis and Hon Jo Luxton. A big congratulations to all students listed below!

List of Maori Kupe Scholars: List of Pacific Kupe Scholars:
Moana Besselink Hans Purcell Percy Aiono
Ruby Leanne Borland-Fraser Kenneth Chapman
Manaia Canterbury Navili Ne’ole Maladina
Karen J Dell Katerina Slakifilo-Davis
Grace Foster Tamara Sikuri
Krystal Aroha Ratu Hasler Shaleshni Lata Singh
Alexander Thomas David Hickman Vilipasi Christopher Tau’alupe
Amiria Ihaka Ana Va’afusuaga
Taimana Iversen Peveliini Beverley Aiga Tulia Wihongi
Tania Rose Jackson
Caity Kenny
Brylee Kingi-Piahana
Ty Matika
Jurnee Moore
Braxton Murray
Autumn Portia Pomare
Emma Rose Purves
Rutene Raukawa Victor Rickard
Jessica Elizabeth Stock
Shaquille Jordan Te Kawau Stone
Jordaan Wihongi
Kim Willison

Recipients of this prestigious scholarship are recognised for their high academic achievement and leadership potential.